Costa Rica Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.3
 Rooms  4.8
 Cleanliness  4.0
 Location  4.5
 Security & Safety  4.3
 Service & Staff  4.0
 Food / Dining  4.0
 Total  4.1

"Very Cool and Friendly Hotel!"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Ryan W. of Juneau, United States
Reviewed:   May 7, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My friend and I had a wonderful stay at this Hotel. Its set back, almost hidden from the main road and we always felt safe and comfortable on the property. It is a perfect 5min. walk to the beach. Overall it was a great experience and I would definitely stay here again!

"Funky Monkey rocks"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Giselle S. of San Francisco, United States
Reviewed:   October 3, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I visited the Funky Monkey lodge with a group of friends.
There were 6 of us. We rented one of their apartments with ocean
view, great for the 6 of us. We traveled in Costa Rica for a month, bust this was the nicest and cleanest place we staid. The room had a huge bathroom with hot watter.
The room has been cleaned every day. The view was absolutely great.
Two of our friends had to leave earlier and we moved to one of the bungalows. We took the shared bungalow with 8 beds. There were 2 people in there already, but that was fine, we ended up hanging out a lot. We were amazed how beautiful that room was. My favorite part was the shower. There is no hot water, but who cares, you don't really need hot water in Costa Rica. They do have hot water in the private rooms
We were having breakfast and dinner at the bar every day. Rafas food is the best ever.
We loved hanging out in the restaurant area or the TV room, all the people there were so nice. Gabi even gave us free yoga lessons by the pool, that is so far the largest I have seen on our trip. The beach is incredible and very close to the lodge. White sand and hot surfers body. We couldn't ask for more.

"we loved the funky monkey lodge"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Chriss J. of Colorado, United States
Reviewed:   November 25, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hemispherehostels.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We absolutely love the Funky Monkey. The bungalows are clean and adorable,the price is very reasonable.
The food is to die for and the chef will cook to order. The staff is so helpful and friendly. The owners and staff speak English/Spanish and are willing to help you make arrangements for tours/ATV/Surf lessons. The property is a short walk to one of the best surf breaks in Costa Rica and tide pools.
The swimming pool is a welcome relief after a hot day at the beach. Our favorite place is the common area where meals are eaten and travelers share stories. There is cable tv in the common area if you want to catch up on the news or watch a movie. They also have wireless internet.
You can not beat the location. Set up on a hill away from the dusty steet, yet only a two minute walk down to restaurants, internet cafes and bakery.
We will return and hope you enjoy Funky Monkey as much as we did.

"Don't stay at Funky Monkey Lodge!"

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   Globetrotter130 M. of Calgary, Canada
Reviewed:   July 23, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We just stayed at the Funky Monkey Lodge in Santa Teresa, Costa Rica. There were MANY problems right from the very start. They promise room rates on the phone and do not honour the rate once you've arrived. They gave away our friend's bungalow reservation to other travellers. They lie - they do not have hot water (it's NOT broken, there simply isn't any at all!). They try to charge extra for using the in-room air conditioning (?!!) without telling you upfront that there is an extra charge...by the way I have never come across an extra charge for using A/C - if its in your room you assume its free to use. The place is owned by a family of 3 - the woman owner is abrasive and unfriendly, yelling around the property at her young son, which is a huge headache. Their (cute, but loud) son shreiks at all hours of the day. They do not take Visa or Mastercard, only cash, and the only ATM in Santa Teresa/Mal pais area didn't work at all for our Canadian bank cards.




I have backpacked around the world, and have never been so disappointed in a hostel. It was one problem after another. Despite the gorgeous bungalows (which really are a cool experience to stay in), it is not worth the trouble to stay here.


1 - 4 of 4 reviews




CostaRicaInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us