Costa Rica Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.9
 Rooms  3.6
 Cleanliness  3.4
 Location  3.9
 Security & Safety  4.3
 Service & Staff  4.1
 Food / Dining  3.6
 Total  3.8

"Not bad"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Mauro C. of Arezzo, Italy
Reviewed:   March 6, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2016     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had the impression that the hostel was located in a totally new address I aspected. Anyhow the taxi found it quite easily. Is in san Pedro, a little away from the downtown and you need to use a local bus to reach it. Quite place but the managers were not so friendly, just business oriented. Next time I'll go nearer to downtown...

"Perfect"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Gwen O. of Athens GA, United States
Reviewed:   March 22, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Wonderful people, facilities and location. Helpful, flexible and interesting. Recommend highly. Because near University of San Jose, best and safest night life in town.

"Big changes"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Quentin S. of Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed:   January 27, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2015     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It is my fifth time at Castle Tam.
The cool vibe is still there, but it seems that the management team has completely changed, and everything is clean and neat now!
For sure a good place to stay nearby the vibrant university area.

"Sehr Gut!"

User Rating:  3.5
Reviewer:   Lukas M. of Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed:   January 25, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hatten einen angenehmen Aufenthalt mit coolen Leuten!

"castle tam"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Vicky A. of exeter, nh, United States
Reviewed:   January 23, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Staying at Castle Tam worked very well for me. When my plane was delayed, they accommodated my arrival a n d helped me find a meal, that late at night ! My room was clean and felt safe. There are 2 options of kitchen availability, wiith pancakes for breakfast - also bringing other visitors together. Computers are available. The receptionist made every effort to help me find my way about and be accommodating. He even arranged my early morning taxi, with price, to a bus station to continue my travel.
The bank is around the corner, also a goodsized mall. The area is comfortable, with a soccer field around the corner. Just step out the door or into the courtyard and view the mountains ~
I have already encouraged a few others to register there. Thank you, Castle Tam ~

"Well located for students of the UCR"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Lisa B. of San José, Costa Rica
Reviewed:   October 16, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2014     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Perfect location for students (in San Pedro, 8 min walk to the university), friendly and helpful stuff, simple rooms, hot shower (if you are the first one), medium clean, nice breakfast.

"Solo Traveller stayed for only 1 night"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Dan B. of Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed:   October 12, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2014     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I would stay again, staff were awesome helpful and friendly

"Fantastic Stay"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Jonathan M. of beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed:   September 29, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2014     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I usually don't wasn't time writing reviews. But I really wanted to express how great my stay was. I stayed there for 2 weeks while in san jose. Very clean. Very quiet. Pretty large and the staff is just an absolute pleasure to hang out with around the reception and at breakfast. Keep it up guys. Highly recommended!!

"Relaxed place to stay"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Jeff B. of Minneapolis, MN, United States
Reviewed:   August 28, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2014     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
An interesting and and relaxing place to stay. The staff were very helpful, and the room I had was ample and comfortable. As for amenities, it's a hostel, not a hotel, and you get what you pay for. Around 30 bucks a night for a large room with private bath and hot shower is IMO a bargain.

"Orrible pinchi-gringos place"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Erica D. of Rome, Italy
Reviewed:   July 4, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2014     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Dirty, bad organisation and staff, full of pinchy gringos, nothing there reminds you that you are in Costa Rica and not in gringoland.


1 - 10 of 15 reviews  Next 5 results




CostaRicaInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us